Dr. Sullivan obtained his Ph.D. in Cell & Molecular Biology from the University of Pennsylvania in 1997. His graduate work, performed in the lab of Dr. David Roos, focused on using novel genetics tools to probe mechanisms of drug resistance in Toxoplasma. After a postdoc at Eli Lilly & Co, he became an Assistant Scientist under the mentorship of Dr. Sherry Queener at the Indiana University School of Medicine (IUSM) to examine gene regulation in Toxoplasma. He is currently Showalter Professor at IUSM in the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology and the Department of Microbiology & Immunology. Dr. Sulivan served on the AOIC study section at NIH from 2016-2019. Dr. Sullivan is an editor/writer at PLOS SciComm and serves on the Editorial Board of mSphere and ASBMB Today. He is also the author of the book, "Pleased to Meet Me: Genes, Germs, and the Curious Forces That Make Us Who We Are," published by National Geographic. Sullivan has been featured in a wide variety of outlets, including CNN, Fox & Friends, The Doctors, Science Fantastic with Dr. Michio Kaku, Doctor Radio, and more. He has published over 100 papers in scientific journals and has written for The Washington Post, National Geographic, Discover, Scientific American, COSMOS, Psychology Today, The Conversation, and more. 


Email. Twitter. LinkedIN. Faculty homepage.


Dr. Michael Holmes obtained his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Windsor in 2015.  His graduate work, performed in the laboratory of Dr. Sirinart Ananvoranich, focused on the study of developmentally regulated transcript-specific translational repression in Toxoplasma gondii bradyzoites. Mike joined the Sullivan lab in July, 2015 and is working on understanding how changes in translational control relate to the tachyzoite - bradyzoite interconversion process.



Sandeep Srivastava, Ph.D.: POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW


Dr. Sandeep Srivastava obtained his Ph.D. in Molecular Medicine from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India. His graduate work was performed in the laboratory of Professor Suman Kumar Dhar, focused on biochemical and functional analysis of Silent Information Regulator protein (SIR2) in Plasmodium falciparum. In 2014, he joined the laboratory of Professor Mark Featherstone at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore to investigate AP2 transcription factors in the malaria parasite. Dr. Srivastava joined the Sullivan lab in March 2017 and is analysing the function of AP2 transcription factors in Toxoplasma.




Vishakha received her PhD in Molecular Parasitology under the supervision of Prof. Swati Patankar from IIT Bombay, India. Her doctoral studies revolved around understanding nuclear trafficking in Plasmodium falciparum. She joined the Sullivan Lab in March 2020 and is studying the role of GCN5 lysine acetyltransferase complexes in Toxoplasma.






Dr. Bastos obtained his Ph.D. in Agricultural Biochemistry (focused on biochemistry and molecular biology) from the Federal University of Viçosa in 2014. His graduate work, performed in the lab of Dr. Juliana Fietto, studied the role of NTPDases in purinergic signaling and virulence in the protozoan parasite Leishmania. He then completed postdoctoral studies on a project entitled anti-parasitic drug discovery in epigenetics (2014-2016, Juliana Fietto Lab). From 2016-2019, he worked in the laboratory of Dr. Luiz R.O. Tosi (University of São Paulo) investigating DNA repair mechanisms in Leishmania. Matheus joined the Sullivan Lab in August 2020 to study the role of mRNA modifications and translation control in Toxoplasma gondii.



Aasutosh Tripathi, Ph.D.: POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW


Aashutosh completed his Ph.D. in the laboratory of  Dr. Sunando Datta at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal (IISERB), where his study focused on characterizing the effector of Rab21 in Entamoeba histolytica and deciphering its role in actin cytoskeleton modulation. He joined the Sullivan lab in March 2021 and is working on understanding the translation control in Toxoplasma gondii.


Anthony Cannon (IBMG rotation)
Calvin Kosso

Lab alumni


Leo Augusto (Postdoctoral fellow 7/2016-10/2020)

Victoria Jeffers, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 11/2010-12/2015; Assistant Research Professor 1/2016-12/2018)  

Michael Harris, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 3/2015-7/2018)

Min Zhang, Ph.D. (Assistant Research Professor, 1/2017-3/2018)

Imaan Benmerzouga, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 1/2014-7/2015)

Anne Bouchut, Ph.D.(Postdoctoral fellow 3/2013-10/2014)

Tingkai Kevin Liu, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 3/2011-9/2013)

Christian Konrad, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 8/2009-7/2013)

Bradley Joyce, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 8/2007-4/2013)

Vanina Elias, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 2/2009-8/2010)

Arunasalam Naguleswaran (Nagul), Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 4/2006-8/2010)

Nathalie Vonlaufen, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 3/2007-2/2008)

Jana Narasimhan, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral fellow 8/2004-7/2006)



Jennifer Martynowicz (MD/PhD 6/2016 - 12/2019)

Jocelyne Hanquier (MS 6/2017 - 11/2019)

Joe Varberg (PhD 6/2013 - 6/2017)

Leah Padgett (PhD 6/2013 - 6/2017)

Sherri Huang (MD/PhD 6/2013 - 12/2016)

Krista Stilger (PhD 6/2009 - 10/2013)

Jiachen Wang (MS 6/2010 - 5/2013)

David O. Onyango (PhD 6/2007-1/2011)

Stacy E. Dixon (MD/PhD 6/2006-6/2010)

Micah M. Bhatti (MD/PhD 6/2002-5/2005)

Karuna Nallani Tirumala (MS 8/2002-7/2004)

Aaron T. Smith (MS 9/2003-9/2005)

Apryl Underwood (MS/MS Spring 2005)

Christina Bennett (MS/MS Spring 2005)

Kelli Bramlett (MS 9/2003-7/2006)



Sarah Abney (Research Technician 3/2008-12/2011)

Aaron T. Smith, MS (Research Technician 9/2005-2/2008)

Meredith Livingston, MS (Research Analyst 4/2004-8/2007)



Diego Ruiz, PhD (Dr. Sergio Angel, 2019)

Valeria Turowski, PhD (Dr. Sergio Angel, 2019)

Thomas Gimeno (STEM student, summer 2018)

Nic Wheeler (undergraduate honors student, summer 2012)

Silvina Bogado (Dr. Sergio Angel, summer 2011 and 2013)

Krista Podell (summer undergrad MURF student, Univ Indianapolis, 2010)

Kaitlin Flynn (summer undergrad, Earlham, 2009)

Carolina Dalmasso (Dr. Sergio Angel, summer 2007, 2008)



Tiffany Novak (2017-2018)

Gian Gballou (2016)

Eunice Jeong (2012)

Ariel Auerbach (2011)

Candice Childs (2011)

Nis Jose (2010)

Kristin Geros (2010)

Dillon Etter (Summer 2009)

Angie Pierle (Spring 2009)

Wendy Cowles (Spring/Summer/Fall 2008)

© 2023 by by James Consulting. Proudly created with

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now